writer, writing

Interrupting the book reviews for a message of self-reflection

I've been thinking about writing this post for a while, but I wanted to formulate everything in my head first. Writing this was also a matter of overcoming some fear, as I want to talke about mistakes I've made in the past. Humans will inevitably always make mistakes. What's important in moving forward is acknowledging… Continue reading Interrupting the book reviews for a message of self-reflection

historical fiction, history, writer

238th Anniversary of the Battle of Germantown

Fought October 4, 1777, the Battle of Germantown was one of Washington's final attempts to win back Philadelphia from the British. By the time the Battle of Germantown was fought, Washington's army suffered low morale due to the back to back losses at Brandywine and Paoli (which actually wasn't the full-out massacre the papers of… Continue reading 238th Anniversary of the Battle of Germantown

book review, writer, writing

Review: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

Novel blurb via Amazon: In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem… Continue reading Review: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Title & Synopsis Reveal

Light and Stone by Nichole Louise Philadelphia 1775. Quaker and midwife-in-training Haven Temple endures a life-changing event that prompts her to forsake her pacifist beliefs and disguise herself as a man to fight for American independence. The army takes Haven to upstate New York, where she meets several Patriot-allied Oneidas, including a young warrior named… Continue reading Title & Synopsis Reveal

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Sources

I wanted to publish a list of on-going sources I have used in my research. I know I'm probably missing a lot (namely the random things I look up and then forget to mark the site url down), but here are some: 1. Forgotten Allies by Joseph T. Glatthaar and James Kirby Martin 2. Places… Continue reading Sources

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

The Onyota’a:ka Language

The Oneida people play a large role in this book, and as such, I thought it only natural to include their language. I was not unfamiliar with including a language in my writing to which I have little to no knowledge of - The Crash of Hard Water has Japanese. But, finding Japanese translations and… Continue reading The Onyota’a:ka Language

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Turn: Washington’s Spies

The season two opener really upped the stakes not only in terms of the narrative, but also in the show as a whole. The specific subject matter is not only original, but unprecedented in media, much less encapsulated in a TV show. This show has really inspired me as a writer in terms of the… Continue reading Turn: Washington’s Spies

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Novel-in-progress update

It's the last day of the year, so I thought it would be nice to post a little update on my progress. (Also, I realize I have been sparse in updating this site.) As I've previously shared on social media outlets, this novel-in-progress is set during the American Revolution. I don't want to give away… Continue reading Novel-in-progress update