writer, writing

Interrupting the book reviews for a message of self-reflection

I've been thinking about writing this post for a while, but I wanted to formulate everything in my head first. Writing this was also a matter of overcoming some fear, as I want to talke about mistakes I've made in the past. Humans will inevitably always make mistakes. What's important in moving forward is acknowledging… Continue reading Interrupting the book reviews for a message of self-reflection

book review, writer, writing

Review: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

Novel blurb via Amazon: In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem… Continue reading Review: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Sources

I wanted to publish a list of on-going sources I have used in my research. I know I'm probably missing a lot (namely the random things I look up and then forget to mark the site url down), but here are some: 1. Forgotten Allies by Joseph T. Glatthaar and James Kirby Martin 2. Places… Continue reading Sources

Uncategorized

First Draft Completed!

A little over a year ago I started writing a book about a young woman's journey through the American Revolution. Today, many characters and adventures later, I finished the first draft. Now on to re-writing the beginning and the laborious process of editing. But at least now I can breathe a sigh of relief knowing… Continue reading First Draft Completed!

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Novel-in-progress update

It's the last day of the year, so I thought it would be nice to post a little update on my progress. (Also, I realize I have been sparse in updating this site.) As I've previously shared on social media outlets, this novel-in-progress is set during the American Revolution. I don't want to give away… Continue reading Novel-in-progress update