writer, writing

Interrupting the book reviews for a message of self-reflection

I've been thinking about writing this post for a while, but I wanted to formulate everything in my head first. Writing this was also a matter of overcoming some fear, as I want to talke about mistakes I've made in the past. Humans will inevitably always make mistakes. What's important in moving forward is acknowledging… Continue reading Interrupting the book reviews for a message of self-reflection

book review, writer, writing

Review: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

Novel blurb via Amazon: In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem… Continue reading Review: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Title & Synopsis Reveal

Light and Stone by Nichole Louise Philadelphia 1775. Quaker and midwife-in-training Haven Temple endures a life-changing event that prompts her to forsake her pacifist beliefs and disguise herself as a man to fight for American independence. The army takes Haven to upstate New York, where she meets several Patriot-allied Oneidas, including a young warrior named… Continue reading Title & Synopsis Reveal

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Sources

I wanted to publish a list of on-going sources I have used in my research. I know I'm probably missing a lot (namely the random things I look up and then forget to mark the site url down), but here are some: 1. Forgotten Allies by Joseph T. Glatthaar and James Kirby Martin 2. Places… Continue reading Sources

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

The Onyota’a:ka Language

The Oneida people play a large role in this book, and as such, I thought it only natural to include their language. I was not unfamiliar with including a language in my writing to which I have little to no knowledge of - The Crash of Hard Water has Japanese. But, finding Japanese translations and… Continue reading The Onyota’a:ka Language

historical fiction, history, writing

Minority Representations in Media & the Importance of Getting it Right

http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2015/04/23/native-actors-walk-set-adam-sandler-movie-after-insults-women-elders-160110 It’s disgusting that this is still going on in 2015. They’re humans and deserve to be treated with respect, but what can I expect from hollywood (under-represents minority voices) and from adam sandler (who hasn’t tried since like 1998). I had, and still have, my worries and reservations about having so many Oneida characters… Continue reading Minority Representations in Media & the Importance of Getting it Right

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Turn: Washington’s Spies

The season two opener really upped the stakes not only in terms of the narrative, but also in the show as a whole. The specific subject matter is not only original, but unprecedented in media, much less encapsulated in a TV show. This show has really inspired me as a writer in terms of the… Continue reading Turn: Washington’s Spies

historical fiction, history, writer, writing

Novel-in-progress update

It's the last day of the year, so I thought it would be nice to post a little update on my progress. (Also, I realize I have been sparse in updating this site.) As I've previously shared on social media outlets, this novel-in-progress is set during the American Revolution. I don't want to give away… Continue reading Novel-in-progress update