Uncategorized

Room & 10 Cloverfield Lane: Women in Peril

WARNING: If you haven't seen Room or 10 Cloverfield Lane yet, this post contains spoilers! We've all seen the classic "woman in peril" trope - a woman hunted, beaten, raped, terrorized, and/or in captivity. At first glance, a viewer may easily place both Room and 10 Cloverfield Lane into this box, but these films are… Continue reading Room & 10 Cloverfield Lane: Women in Peril

book review, writer, writing

Review: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

Novel blurb via Amazon: In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem… Continue reading Review: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry